Friday, 2 April 2010

NHS Trusts in need of urgent improvement

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) is an independent regulator of all health and adult social care in England. It inspects all health and adult social care services, whether they're provided by the NHS, local authorities, private companies or voluntary organisations.

As of 1st April 2010, all 378 NHS trusts were required to register with the Care Quality Commission so they can be monitored for quality and safety.

From October 2010, the new registration system will be extended to cover independent healthcare and adult social care providers, which are currently registered with CQC under a different system.

From April 2011, the registration system is set to cover dentists and private ambulances.

From April 2012, it is set to include primary medical care services such as GPs and private midwives.

Cynthia Bower, CQC’s chief executive, said:

“I am pleased to announce that CQC has completed registration of all NHS trusts in England. Meeting the 1 April deadline is the first step in a new, single system of regulation for health and adult social care. We will now be monitoring these trusts constantly, carrying out more unannounced inspections and using our tough new enforcement powers to make sure people get better care.

“For 22 trusts, registration is conditional on improvements being made. We have set out the steps we expect to be taken and by when. It is now the responsibility of these trusts to ensure improvements are made. If they fail to act, we will take appropriate action.”

“Most conditions were imposed in relation to the care and welfare of people who use services. This makes clear that some trusts must do more to make sure people experience effective, safe and appropriate care that meets their needs and respects their rights.

“Staffing issues are a cause of concern in some hospitals and led to a number of conditions. Having enough staff on duty with the right training and experience has a direct impact on the quality of care people experience. Trust boards must ensure staff in hospitals are well trained and properly supported.”

After checking out the CQC website I found that twenty two NHS Trusts are in urgent need of improvement.

Fifteen of these are in the acute sector, four are in mental health, two are PCTs and one is an ambulance trust. Twelve of the 22 with conditions are Foundation Trusts.

Trusts with conditions are as follows:

• Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust
• Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
• East and North Hertfordshire Primary Care Trust
• East Riding of Yorkshire Primary Care Trust
• Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust
• Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
• Medway NHS Foundation Trust
• Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
• Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
• Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
• Devon Partnership NHS Trust
• Kent and Medway NHS and Social Care Partnership Trust
• Luton and Dunstable Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
• Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust
• Northern Lincolnshire and Goole Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
• Scarborough and North East Yorkshire Healthcare NHS Trust
• Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
• Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
• West London Mental Health NHS Trust
• Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust
• Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust
• Milton Keynes Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

If your Trust is amongst those listed, conditions can be checked HERE

No comments:

All material published on these pages represents the personal views of the DERBY PATRIOT and should not be taken to represent any political party.